Triumphant York Take Top Trophy Again


Back row L to R: Claudia Nisbet (Bubwith 2), Kathryn Maude (York 1), Suzanne Straw (David Lloyd 3), Maxine Gordon (David Lloyd 2); Front row L to R:  Helen Gray (Heworth), Jill McCreedy (Fulford 1), Jill Marsden (Wistow).

Jubilant York lifted the division 1 trophy at the Fulford Ladies Invitation Tennis League presentations for the fourth year in succession. They were the only team to finish the season with a 100% win record and in doing so secured 1054 games, the most by any team in the league. Runners up, Dunnington, were only defeated twice, on both occasions by the champions, and were the only other team in the league to win over 1000 games.

Fulford took the second division crown and also completed the season undefeated, though did include a couple of draws in their results. They return to the top tier, along with Castlegarth, both teams having had just one season away.

Wistow took the division 3 title and so will move into division 2 for the first time in their history. Second placed Castlegarth bounce straight back up after being relegated last year.

Two teams battled out the division 4 top slot for most of the season, David Lloyd’s eight match unbeaten run ultimately saw them finish the stronger to top the table ahead of Bubwith.

The league’s closest finish was in division 5 where Heworth claimed the title by finishing just a point ahead of Bishopthorpe.

David Lloyd 3 lost only one game in their march to the division 6 crown. Fulford will join them in division 5, returning after their relegation last term.

Two of the three new teams to enter the League, Bubwith 2 and David Lloyd 4, will both be promoted from division 7, Bubwith as champions.

The League also recognised the top scoring player from each division, these were Wendy Stirke (York 1) – 377 games, Jill McCreedy (Fulford 1) – 334, Rachel Huggins (Wistow) – 314, Liz Bramley (Bubwith 1) 283, Andrene Watson ( Bishopthorpe 2) – 286, Charlotte O’ Shea (Fulford 3) – 265 and Tracey Howbridge (Bubwith 2) – 242.


Wendy Stirke won the Terry Haw trophy which is awarded to the player that won the most games in the league. On presenting the cup, Terry Haw recognised Stirke’s  incredible achievement of playing at such a high level and  consistently gaining such impressive scores.


Beryl Bean Over 55’s Tournament

BB Winners – Wig’s Denise Crane (left) and Sue Espiner



Debutant Wigginton pair Sue Espiner and Denise Crane lifted this season’s Beryl Bean Over 55’s Trophy after defeating Rosie Cantrell and Hilary Spencer 6-2 in the final.

The tournament involved nine couples from various clubs and divisions of the ladies league contending in two groups. Tollerton’s Pippa Bailey and Tina Galleon just missed out on advancing from the group stages, finishing a game behind Jill McCreedy and Chris Place. This set up a close semifinal, McCreedy and Place going down 4-3 to Cantrell and Spencer, who had dominated their group.

The other semi saw Crane and Espiner ease past Wilberfoss duo Bev Tebbutt and Chris Oldfield. This set up a Wig v Popp final.

The final saw all four players produce some compelling rallies, but Espiner and Crane ultimately gained the upper hand to take the title at their first attempt.

Tournament sponsor Beryl Bean thanked hosts Wigginton for organising a very well run tournament and also all the participants for providing some excellent matches.



Sun Shines for IT & IT Too Tournaments



York’s Fay Chapman (left) and Karen Retief

York Tennis Club once again hosted this season’s IT Sports Tournament which involved nine couples from six different clubs. Ladies from divisions 1 and 2 in the league competed in two groups, the top two in each group going forward to the semi-finals.

Group match highlights included a close battle between David Lloyd’s Sheila Duxbury and Elaine Hilton who narrowly defeated Jane Parkin and Katy Fowler and Rufforth’s Chris Place and Sue Yoward’s 3-2 victory over Bishopthorpe’s Laura Rhodes and Katie Harvey.

The semi-finals saw York’s Jill Le Pla and Siobhan Gilfillan defeat Dunnington duo Emma Loten and Alex Bolam, and Karen Retief and Fay Chapman overcome Fulford’s Jill McCreedy and Jane Wallace.

This set up an all York final. A highly competitive match saw some top quality tennis, left hander JLP trading some brilliant cross court rallies with strong backhander Karen Retief. In the tightest of finishes, Retief and Chapman showed slightly more consistency to just edge past their team mates and take the title for the first time.



Tournament organisers, York TC, would like to thank all couples that entered and everyone who took part in the raffle, which along with entry fees raised £122 which will be donated to the research charity, Breast Cancer Now.




 Bev Tebbutt (left) and Chris Oldfield from Wilberfoss

The IT Too tournament was held at Bubwith Tennis Club. This event, which is open to players from divisions 3-7 of the ladies league, saw eight couples, from five different clubs take part.

Dunnington’s Liz Stacey and Barbara Plummer, along with Bishopthorpe pair Andrene Watson and Jackie Mason qualified from the group stages, but lost out in the semis.

The final saw young Fulford pair, Sarah Richards and Charlotte O Shea just lose out to the experienced Wilberfoss couple Bev Tebbutt and Chris Oldfield.