Presentation of League Trophies

Victorious captains – from left to right – Kathryn Place (York 1), Sheila Duxberry (David Lloyd 1), Jean Jaram (York 3), Jackie Heseltine (Copmanthorpe 2) and Pauline Wreglesworth (Wigginton 2); (missing are Pocklington 2 and Boston Spa 2 captains).


York celebrated their fifth title in a row as they were crowned division 1 champions of the Fulford Ladies Invitation Tennis League. Despite suffering their first defeat in three years, the Clifton Park club were the only team in the league to win over 1000 games.

David Lloyd took the division 2 title aided by positive scores from the whole squad in many of their matches. They’ll be joined in the top flight by Wigginton.

Pocklington topped division 3 so return to the second tier after just one season away. David Lloyd seconds are also promoted so will compete at the team’s highest ever league position.

Boston Spa won division 4 by the league’s biggest margin, losing only one match, they finished ten points clear of second placed Bishopthorpe.

After missing out on promotion last season by games difference, Wigginton 2 secured the division 5 title ahead of Riccall.

Copmanthorpe 2 claimed the division 6 crown, finishing as the only team in the league with a 100%-win record. Poppleton 3 will be promoted with them.

York 3 bagged the division 7 title in their first season of league tennis. Rufforth were runners up so will join them in division 6.

The League also recognized the top scoring players from each division. These were Wendy Stirke (York 1) – 355 games, Kate Lewis (Rufforth) – 299, Lisa Garland (David Lloyd 2) – 310, Chris Howatt (Appleton) – 314, Gerry Screeton (Wilberfoss) – 283, Lynda Withers (Copmanthorpe 2) – 299 and Kim Lees (Stamford Bridge) – 230.

Wendy Stirke won the Terry Haw trophy which is awarded to the player who won the most games in the league.



Big thanks from myself to Ellie Page for all her hard work recording and logging the scores and checking the eligibility of all players throughout the season and also to our sponsors Ryedale Brakes of Malton.